HELP the Abyssinians

We have rescued 24 purebred Abyssinians that were about to be killed by their breeder.  15 of them will be going on transport to NY on Thursday but the other 9 will be here at least for a while to get them healthy.  We could really use help with caring for them, they are starved for love and affection.

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jill said,

    On Friday June 20, 2008 HELP Humane Society took in 24 pure breed Abyssinian cats. Wow what an evening that was! All 24 are now temporary residents of HELP. They are 24 of the most beautiful affection starved cats I have ever seen. They came to us in poor shape. Many have upper respiratory infections (URI’s) and a few needed fluids. Our own Dr. Quinn aka Kathy got them all taken care of. Only a couple had names I found that to be sad so Cyndi told me to go ahead and name them. With a little help from Kathy all now have a name of their own. I am happy to say these guys are now not just someone’s way to make of making money but animals that matter for who they are not for what they earn.

    Two of them are missing eyes. I named them Ivan and Alvin. After two wonderful men I had in my life. My Uncle Ivan died when I was very young but I can always remember the love he gave. Alvin is named after my husband’s grandpa-the 1st man I ever met who was not embarrassed to admit he loved cats. I encourage everyone to stop in & meet ALL of these special cats. Come and show them they deserve to be loved. I promise it will be an experience you will never forget.

    And just so you will know who all you will be meeting I will list all of their names and ages:

    David – 9 mos. old, Michelle – 6 mos. old, Oscar -9 mos. old, Russell – 6 mos. old, Jay – 8 mos. old , Lynn – 8 mos. old, Jared – 8 mos. old, Adam – 8 mos. old, Seth – 8 mos. old, Ivan – 8 mos. old, Ava – 9 mos. old, Eshe – 2 yrs. old, Reba – 5 yrs. old, Baby James -6 mos. old, Oliver – 6 mos. old, Eric – 6 mos. old, Sam – 8 mos. old, Leah – 6 mos. old, Bambi – 6 mos. old, Alvin – 7 yrs old, Fancy – 6 mos. old, Heidi – 6 mos. old, Lyric – 3 yrs. Old and Maggie Mae 6 yrs. old.

    We should have picture for you to see soon.

  2. 2

    kjb said,

    I saw the all of the Abys when the got back to the shelter last Friday night. I helped put the more timid ones in the back area with the cool sink (through the back door of the FIV room). The five back there seemed pretty timid as far as not wanting to come out of the cage, but once they were out they LOVED to be petted. They are so affectionate and gorgeous. I’m so glad that they all have names now and identities of their own.

  3. 3

    Debi & Bill said,

    We had the opportunity to visit the Abys Sunday evening, just a couple of days after they arrived. They seemed to be settling in and feeling pretty comfortable in their new environment. These are such lovely cats and so loving. Although a few were shy, most are craving attention and affection. Our thanks go out to everyone who made this rescue possible. If you have not visited the shelter please do so. It is not just about the Abys, there are so many cats that are able to enjoy this wonderful place and the caring people who volunteer time to take such good care of them all. Come visit and you too will be captivated!

  4. 4

    Jill said,

    Today the Aby’s are all getting retested for FeLV. I am so nervous waiting to hear the results. I am praying that not all of them are FeLV+ like we were told from the breeder. They already have enough health issues to face. Of course either way it will not matter because they will have every chance now to live the best life they can.

    That is the BEST part of volunteering at a TRUE No-Kill Animal Shelter! Every animal is given a chance at life no matter what their health issue or even their attitude may be. I do not know how people can volunteer where animals are put to sleep daily. My heart would be broken at a place like that. Any way please keep good thoughts for the Aby’s.

  5. 5

    Mary Lewis said,

    Hi. I’m the Mary who was supposed to help Susan drive the kitties from KC to NY. Unfortunately I live in California or I’d be there every day making friends and giving HUGE amounts of affection.

    My aby, Kimba ATE a little toy mouse I gave him this past Christmas. I didn’t know what he had done until the mouse got stuck between his small and large intestines. Of course the remedy was very expensive surgery. My point here (bet you thought I’d never get to the point, eh?) is that the staff at the vet’s office said that my coming to visit Kimba EVERY day after work made a BIG difference in him and for some strange reason the staff said it made a big difference to them … I wonder. I had no idea that my visits made a difference (except to me), but I can now affirm how much human contact helps in a situation where a cat or cats are confined to cages.

    I feel like I have a vested interest in the well being of these cats. I pray for them every day and I can’t wait until they are safe in New York!

    Mary

  6. 6

    Hi my name is Kathy or Dr. Quinn as some call me around the Help Humane Society. I feel very priveleged to have a part in the rescue of these beautiful babies. I may not get much typed tonight since the days are blending together. As you have read we rescued 24 Abby’s from a breeder that was going to kill them becuse they wouldn’t bring money anymore. Our Director contacted me on Friday morning to let me know what was going on so I could start getting the area ready for their arrival. I believe this rescue was God ordained as you will see his hand in all of this. Thanks to some young people coming in that morning we were able to get the dog kennel area cleaned. This was before I knew about our special opperation. Some volunteers started arriving shortly after 3:00 PM and helpped me get carriers ready, empty my van and take seats out, and start setting up cages. Cyndi, Eric and myself went to get our guests. I didn’t know my van could hold so many carriers at one time. I had an Abby Kitty Choir on the way back here. By the way they like Gospel music!

    My work started as we got them settled into cages. None of us could stand the thought of these little ones not having a name so Jill started naming them and I jumped on the bandwagon. Within no time they all had names, and by now I’m learning all their names and personnallities. There’s Jared who cuddled up on my lap while I sat on the floor cleaning his cage, then scarredy Lauren now rubbing her face against mine, and Jay the clown who likes to do actrobacts and I could go on. Someone asked which one was my faviorte they all are. They just want to be loved.

    Most of them were sick with URI’s, bad eye problems, diarrhea, herpies virsue, and dehydration. I started feedings with medication in it, eye meds in the effected eyes, IV fluids, and trying to get the diarrhea cleared up. It’s a fulltime day and night job, but well worth it. At the same time keeping up with the rest of the cats in the shelter.

    Here’s some of what God has done to help the abby’s and the shelter. People started coming in offering to help clean, give donations of food, supplies I need, L-lysene, paper plates and even fans. By Sunday night things were still kind of crazy around here. Three people went on vacation this week not knowing about all this which included my relief med person and our cleaning person for Sunday nights. Different people have come in and offered to help me with feedings. Sunday night just after I got word that my helpper could come in to clean and I told Cyndi that it would be an all nighter a couple came to the rescue. They saw the emails and came to help. (angels in discise) People have even brought me lunch.

    Without everyone’s help we could not have done this. I personnaly want to thank all you wonderful angles. Jill thanks for the spread sheet that made it eaiser for me to do meds. Well that’s enough for tonight I can’t see the screen anymore.

    If you haven’t seen the Abby’s or our shelter please come out. You will go away feeling good not sad. Tomorrow will be a very busy day getting some of them ready to go to New York so you still have time to visit. God Bless!

  7. 7

    helphumane said,

    Today was a big day for all of us, volunteers and Abys. We retested them and 16 were definite FeLV+ and 7 were negative. However, one of the negatives were in with a positive, so we will be rechecking that one also.

    I have been through the entire gammot of emotions with this rescue. For about 1 month, I had to “play nice” with this breeder in order to get the cats to safety. She did ask me if Aby Rescue knew her name and I said no and she said she was happy about that because although she appreciated the group, they would never let her have a kitten again. Well, they do know now, and I hope they stop her for bringing anymore kittens into this world that she obviously doesnt really care about.

    Anyway, while working with wonderful Susan at Aby Rescue and Cynthia Cash on transporting, it was taking a while to get everything in order and both Susan and I agreed that they should be retested before going into Sanctuary. However, the breeder was getting very impatient and at one time even told me “peddle faster” and then laughed it off. I told her that this rescue was not the only thing I was working on. She said she was quite overwhelmed with them still being there and her husband was getting upset because they were still in the area of her “boys” obviously still intact.

    On 6/20, her patience was gone, so we loaded up carriers and headed for her home. They were not in “bad” conditions, I have seen much worse, but there were obviously some serious eye issues going on and diarrhea galore. I found it so sad that only a couple of the older ones had names, the others, she couldnt even remember if they were males or females and some she had had for going on a year.

    A couple of them she hugged as we put into carriers, but most of them were just shoved in. Honestly, I didnt even get the hugs part, she was ready to kill them all only a couple weeks earlier. She had made this mess, shouldnt she have cleaned it up? And not by killing them all but making the remainders of their lives good?

    After making sure her relinquish form was completed, we headed back to the shelter and I was estatic that I wouldnt have to play nice with this careless woman again. She was in my rear view mirror and that would be it. After arrival at the shelter, I was so happy to see several volunteers bustling around getting cages ready for our little charges. After evaluating some of their health states and level of “timidness”, we begin to put them in cages. A couple of volunteers were running into each other helping and my heart just swelled, it was so wonderful to see that, all those people giving their time and energy to help these little ones. The only thing the breeder did, was give us “approx” birth dates, because she couldnt remember them and a sharpie pen we used to mark the carriers. Yet all these people showed up to donate their time and love to help settle in these most deserving animals!!

    After that, I had my cry, my heart hurt with looking at these babies and knowing they were just not sure what was happening or what was coming. They were discarded like broken equipment, yet they were precious lives, each one of them, but their “maker” only saw them as damaged equipment, and not even taking responsibility that it was HER fault. Many of them have horrible eye issues and we believe that several are totally blind. Two are so emaciated with diarrhea and so starving for food and affection, they are very social kitties!

    I will post more pictures tomorrow as we prepare for our last day with 1/2 of them. My heart is already breaking knowing we dont have the staff or space to keep them with us. Thank goodness for National Aby Rescue (Susan and Cynthia in particular) and Angel’s Gate (Susan) for giving them their lives basically. They would be cold and dead by now if not for such wonderful tearmwork! What a tragedy that would have been, its tragic enough the condition they are in, but to have lost their lives because of a careless and insensitve breeder would have been the worst.

    Cyndi
    Director, HELP Humane Society

  8. 8

    Jill said,

    Lucky me! I got to go visit the Aby’s again last night, but I do feel bad that I haven’t spent more time with HELP’s other cats. Once things calm down I will go around and give them all greenie treats and ask them their forgiveness.

    I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to visit these guys. They are all so full of love and beg for attention, even though most of them are so ill. I worried all night about Jared and Lynn. Their eyes look so bad and poor Jared one of his eyes is almost swollen shut. Jared tested negative but he is in a cage with Lynn who tested positive so I fear when we retest he will be positive. Bless their little hearts though, as bad as they looked they still fought for attention.

    Then there are the little boys, Baby James and Oliver. Okay, I know I shouldn’t have a favorite because they are all awesome, but Baby James from the 1st night won me over. You open his cage and before you can blink he is in your arms. He is a light gray color or more appropriately for this breed of cat – a light blue. His brother Oliver is smaller and a couple of shades darker. These two boys compete for attention. Wendy, Kathy’s daughter was holding Oliver and I Baby James, well Baby James did not like that! He wants every ones attention, so he climbed out of my arms and onto Wendy’s shoulder and on top of his brother Oliver! Poor Oliver always getting stepped on by his brother, but do not feel too sorry for him, because he gets a lot of attention too!

    I also got to spend some time with Alvin one of the boys that are missing an eye. He is a world class head butt’er! As soon as I opened his cage he was up me and rubbing his head all over my chin. This went on for 10 minutes before my mouth was so full of Aby hair I had to put him down. LOL! Oh What a JOY these cats are!

    Jay is in the same room as Alvin and he will not let anyone come in with out him touching them. He has the longest reach of any of them or maybe the most will power to reach out and touch someone. He can stretch his paw WAY out to grab hold of someone. And if that doesn’t do the trick he will try to squeeze his head through the cage bars, then of course you feel so sorry for him that you HAVE to love him.

    Poor Bambi she did not want to get her blood tested earlier in the day. Since it was calmer last night and Wendy is a vet tech, I well, volunteered her to try testing Bambi again. The 1st thing I found out about Bambi is that she is SO NOT a Bambi. She may look sweet and innocent but she is not a push over! OH NO not her! I told Cyndi I think now she is more a “Xenia Warrior Princess”! A whole lot of cat in a small package! The good news though is she tested Negative for FeLV.

    However sadly that could change since she had been living in daily contact with the other 19 that tested positive. Out of 24 only 5 tested negative and they will be retested in several weeks. The only thing we can do is hope and pray that those tests come back negative too.

    Tomorrow will be a big day for 15 of them and since I cannot be there I pray that they have a safe journey to their new home. God Bless you sweet Aby’s one and all!

    Jill

  9. 9

    cyndidill said,

    Well, I just got home from the shelter, its 3:45am. I cried all the way home, not really sure why. They transporters were fabulous guys that love cats and actually introduced themselves to each cat as they took them to the van. I am worried about them not having food/water during their long journey. We gave fluids to those that were having bad diarrhea, so hopefully that will help them.

    I am beyond exhausted both mentally and physically but I know Kathy is even more exhausted and I appreciate her help so much in all of this. There is no way I could have done it alone tonight. I was already crying an hour before the transporters arrived. Please pray for their safe journey to their new home in NY.

    Cyndi

  10. 10

    I’m exhausted but estatic at the same time. Our babies are either on their way to a beautiful home in NY or now in the shelter settled in. It was hard saying goodbye since I got so close to them. That’s what happens when you wipe babies bottoms and chins. LOL! We have had sooooo! much great help I feel overwhelmed at times. Cyndi had it so well organized that last night went very smoothly. This morning I was greeted by Carol who brought me breakfest. And 2 wonderful teen volunteers came in and helpped get our new guests into more comfortable cages and cleaned up the Abby area. I will miss my babies! God’s Blessings over all of you!

  11. 11

    Cynthia Cash said,

    Hi Cyndi, Dr. Quinn, and all your wonderful volunteers – I can’t thank you enough for helping in this Aby rescue and then at the last minute, had to move heaven and earth to take these cats into your already burgeoning shelter a week earlier than planned. It had to have been hectic. And then the cats had so many unexpected medical problems! None of us likes last minute surprises, especially when the poor animals might be in jeopardy AND we are cleaning up an uncaring breeder’s mess, but your group rose to the occasion!

    Readers, remember that this whole rescue started when the breeder took 25 Abys to be euthanized as they all FeLV positive, something she could have simply avoided by testing her cats when they returned from other catteries. But placing 25 breeding cats in your basement, not knowing who is who, is no way to run a clean, healty and reputable breeding environment, JMHO. Basically, she ran a slip-shop operation and paid the price. Or should we say, the poor cats paid the price!

    Yet once Susan Baker found a sanctuary, one can’t very well go kill 25 Abys when rescue can take them, now can you? That would give yet another dimension to callous. Callous is one thing, but not callous/callous!

    Well, either way, your group accomplished one heck of a rescue and one thing I’ve leaned over the years, pulling together at the last minute… that’s the true spirit of rescue. Shoulder to shoulder, moving the animal. Our former NAR (National Abyssinian Rescue) director, Carol McCutcheon, used to say to reassure us when the best laid plans went south, “Keep your eyes on the prize”, i.e. the animal in need.

    And keeping your eyes on the prize, your group did so in spades! This was a different rescue for me as I’m used to being the short, feisty one in charge, using rescue groups/personnel that I’ve long worked with and trusted. Here we had your rescue group (new), the transport folks (new), and the ultimate sanctuary in New York (also new). You ALL have made a believer out of me. I’m so very beholding… reading your above reports simply brought me to tears.

    So, please know how above and beyond you efforts were. I quit counting when I moved over 4,000 Greyhound to safety, dealing with you don’t want to hear, but never have I been so impressed with the ‘can-do’ spirit of Cyndi’s group, her volunteers and her devoted doctor. Our Abys just can’t thank you enough! OK, I’m gushing here, time to go A heartfelt thanks once again and best wishes for Michelle………………………Cynthia Cash

  12. 12

    Cynthia Cash said,

    Hi Cyndi, Dr. Quinn, and all your wonderful volunteers – I can’t thank you enough for helping in this Aby rescue and then at the last minute, had to move heaven and earth to take these cats into your already burgeoning shelter a week earlier than planned. It had to have been hectic. And then the cats had so many unexpected medical problems! None of us likes last minute surprises, especially when the poor animals might be in jeopardy AND we are cleaning up an uncaring breeder’s mess, but your group rose to the occasion!

    Readers, remember that this whole rescue started when the breeder took 25 Abys to be euthanized as they all FeLV positive, something she could have simply avoided by testing her cats when they returned from other catteries. But placing 25 breeding cats in your basement, not knowing who is who, is no way to run a clean, healty and reputable breeding environment, JMHO. Basically, she ran a slip-shop operation and paid the price. Or should we say, the poor cats paid the price!

    Yet once Susan Baker found a sanctuary, one can’t very well go kill 25 Abys when rescue can take them, now can you? That would give yet another dimension to callous. Callous is one thing, but not callous/callous!

    Well, either way, your group accomplished one heck of a rescue and one thing I’ve leaned over the years, pulling together at the last minute… that’s the true spirit of rescue. Shoulder to shoulder, moving the animal. Our former NAR (National Abyssinian Rescue) director, Carol McCutcheon, used to say to reassure us when the best laid plans went south, “Keep your eyes on the prize”, i.e. the animal in need.

    And keeping your eyes on the prize, your group did so in spades! This was a different rescue for me as I’m used to being the short, feisty one in charge, using rescue groups/personnel that I’ve long worked with and trusted. Here we had your rescue group (new), the transport folks (new), and the ultimate sanctuary in New York (also new). You ALL have made a believer out of me. I’m so very beholding… reading your above reports simply brought me to tears.

    So, please know how above and beyond your efforts were. I quit counting when I moved over 4,000 Greyhound to safety, dealing with you don’t want to hear, but never have I been so impressed with the ‘can-do’ spirit of Cyndi’s group, her volunteers and her devoted doctor. Our Abys just can’t thank you enough! OK, I’m gushing here, time to go A heartfelt thanks once again and best wishes for Michelle………………………Cynthia Cash

  13. 13

    Jill said,

    Today I got to see a picture of the Aby’s in there new home at Angels Gate. Hopefuly Cyndi will be able to add it to the pictures. That looked so happy in their little cottage. Only 14 ended up making the trip. Poor little Lynn was supose to go but we were afraid she would not do well on the trip. Her health is so poor with her eyes not getting much better. Left at the shelter are David, Michelle, Bambi, Ava, Ivan, Maggie Mae, Jared, Fancy, Lynn and Reba. Michelle is having some type of breathing trouble and gets to see a specialist on Monday. David still has diarrhea Jared and Lynn have the worst eyes. Ivan only has one eye and his remaining eye looks like it has a coating on it and we fear he will be completely blind in time. Cyndi is trying to get a eye specialist check the ones with eye troubles at a discount. I pray that will happen because all of these guys will be straining the HELP budget, but they are well worth it.

  14. 14

    Norman Auspitz said,

    Angels,

    You have done a superb job in a caring, professional manner. I am at arms length from this rescue, as I am here in Louisville, KY. We have gotten the Cat Fanciers’ Association, inc. (CFA) Animal Welfare involved.

    Although this is not the worst we have seen, it is bad enough. These little charges did not ask to come into the world, but, now that they are here, the breeder has an obligation. Cats are not a commodity to be disposed of when things become inconvenient. They are living breathing creatures all of whom deserve a forever home.

    National Abyssinian Rescue and the CFA Abyssinian breed council is grateful for all of your efforts!!!!!

    Grateful regards… Norman Auspitz

  15. 15

    Jill said,

    I would like to address what Norman said. We are not the Angels – the Abys are. Kathy mentions how God has helped the Abys and I have to say I think maybe God sent them to us for a reason. I have felt so blessed to have been a part of this. Those Abys with all of their love despite the situation they have come from are the TRUE Angels.

    We had some good news yesterday. Little Michelle who has had all of the breathing problems was seen by Dr. Dennis yesterday. He removed a huge polyp from under her soft palate. She is breathing and eating much better now. She will still need to have some thing done with the roots of the polyp that are in her ear, but for now she is much more comfortable. Thanks Dr. Dennis!

  16. 16

    HI Kathy here,

    I want to set the record strait they call me Dr. Quinn around HELP but I am not really a doctor. I love the animals and do what I can to help them get well. Thanks to Cyndi and her direction on the meds and my daughter Wendy’s advice who is a Vet Tech. I’m able to do the work I do. Yesterday I took Lynn, Jared and David to the vet’s office. Good news was that we have been treating them correctly for their conditions. Lynn looks the worst of the three she has a very bad URI possibly moving into the lungs, her eyes are very bad. Jared looks better than the other two although he also has the URI and bad eyes, David has mostly intestanial problems. In all they could be worse but are on the road to recovery. They all have put on some weight and eat like their never going to get food again. In all our little angels and I are settling into a routine, but most of all I love holding them and getting all their love and kisses. It makes all the work from the last week or so well worth doing. I am trully Blessed to have a hand in taking care of the animals at the HELP Humane Society.

  17. 17

    I am so very proud to be a part of this wonderful group of volunteers, who saved all these kitties. I was on vacation , when it all came about, but when I returned home, I saw the great work , they had done. God bless each and every one of you, who were involved in this venture. And I know all the kitties, who were saved, say THANK YOU IN A BIG WAY. Their little lives have been enriched by all of you. And they have a lot of living, and loving to do.

  18. 18

    Just a little bit of an update. One of our girls Reba got a home and Ivan will be joining her soon. The wonderful couple that came to Cyndi and my rescue that Sunday night are the new proud owners. They will have a great home with lots of love. Jared and Michelle had a chance of freedom running around the room they are in. What clowns! They keep you laughing. By the way it’s hard to get much work done when you’re busy watching them play. LOL They are still not out of the woods with their eyes. Poor Lynn! She is soooo sick. She needs lots of TLC. I’m sure she’ll get plenty around here. We still are in need of canned food and L-lysine any help is greatly appreciated. Well I better get back to work or play whichever comes first. Thanks for all your help and prayers.

  19. 19

    Cyndi said,

    Tomorrow will be 3 wks since we saved these babies lives and began to help them to live a good one. Reba went home and Ivan will be going to the same home next Tues. Ivan is the one with the eye removed that remained with us at the shelter. Both are testing negative but since they were all thrown in together, we will have to wait and retest for several months to see if they stay that way. Reba’s new family loves her dearly and she slept in bed with them the first night. She is all of 6 whole pounds and that is with a weight gain since we got her. She is a bit timid but her family is giving her lots of reassurance that she has basically one the lottery. Now Ivan is all sorts of full of himself, so he wont have any problem settling in. His diarrhea has finally cleared up with several meds and lots of TLC.

    Today, Jared got his second play session in our FeLV+ room with the others, and although this dear boy is almost totally blind from lack of treatment for the herpes, he ran like the wind chasing with his friend David. David is the little boy with horrid diarrhea and extremely emaciated. His stools are firming some but he still has bad days or incidents with it. The two of them chasing each other and rolling all over was a sight to see, and although Jared has little sight, he still had one screaming time of fun! This is when the heartache of such a rescue begins to heal, when you watch them begin to get better and start to be a cat again………it’s what makes you pick yourself up, brush yourself off and go on……and that’s what its all about……

  20. 20

    Jill said,

    It has been several weeks since I last wrote. I thought I would take some time to update everyone on the Abys that are staying at HELP. Good news for Reba and Ivan, they both got adopted together! Thanks Deb and Bill! We know they will be well loved and taken care of in your home!

    Cyndi and Kathy told me that Michelle has put on 1 whole pound since we have had her! And her vision seems to be getting better since the removal of the polyp. David is starting to get fur back on the inside of his back legs and is acting so much better. He is now as demanding as the rest for attention. So much different from the first day we had him. He was so sick I don’t think he could enjoy his much better surroundings. Now he knows that Aby’s rule and will not be ignored!

    Lynn’s eyes are slowly looking better, although if you had never seen her from before you would not believe me. Her eyes still look very bad, but not nearly as bad as a month ago. Poor girl her eyes look so painful, I just wish I could take the pain for myself so that she would not suffer. Jared was bouncing all over his cage on Saturday and looks forward to his outside the cage play time. I have yet to see it, but from what I hear for a boy that seems like he cannot see, he sure has no trouble running around like a crazy man!

    Fancy, Bambi and Ava are still in cages but they are now allowed play time together. I got to see that and all I can say is it is a sight that must be seen! LOL! So much joy in them while they play. Kathy found a crinkle bag toy that they love. One goes in the bag another waits on top of a scratching post and BAM! Down on top they go! Over and over pouncing on one another! Kathy and I couldn’t get much done from watching them. As we watched Fancy decided to suck on Bambi’s tail. Oh how cute that was! If you cannot tell form this these 3 are getting healthier, but they are getting a little cough so we will monitor that. Bambi has grown and is on her way to being one beautiful adult Aby. Ava is still as affectionate as ever. If you open her cage all you have to do is put your shoulder out and she is all over you. Fancy is the same. All of them love their hammocks and that is another source of amusement for them.

    Last but certainly not least is Maggie Mae. She is a little more cautious than the others, but is getting her confidence and now asks to be petted just like the others. I think of her as our little Southern Belle, dainty, prim and proper with manners. She requires people to fawn over her, not the other way around. In all they are all recovering from the trauma that was their life. Now they know that only good things are in the future for them.

    Jill


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

